The church of Panagia Eleistria, is located at the southwestern edge of the Venetian fortress of Koroni overlooking Zaga Beach. Visitors first pass through a beautiful garden with tall shade-giving trees along a path to the church. The courtyard is the perfect spot to gaze down the length of the beach and out into the azure blue of the Ionian Sea.
The icon of the Virgin of Eleistria was found on January 22, 1897, following a vision by an elderly woman from Koroni. The tale is that she had seen the divine figure of the Virgin Mary for 15 consecutive years. The Virgin indicated to her the place where three small images would be later found; the Crucifixion, the Virgin Mary and the Evangelist Luke. These three icons represent the present image of Eleistria. Below the Temple there is the Sacred Rock where the images were found, so a small chapel, also known as Evresi (meaning Finding), was erected there. The temple was inaugurated on December 26, 1900.
The church celebrates its name on the first Friday after Easter, with a procession of the image in the picturesque streets of Koroni. It is also celebrates on the day of the Holy Cross, on September 14th, the Annunciation on 25th March, and on January 22 nd ; the date of the icon of the Virgin Mary Eleistria was found. The inhabitants of the area testify that many miracles that have been accomplished with the help of the Virgin Mary, so many believers honor it and visit the church to pray.