In more recent times, the Franks built Paleokastro at the northern side of Navarino Bay; Stands imposingly atop a rock 200 m. tall, surrounded by steep cliffs. It is a rectangular structure, which includes square and round towers. It was built by the Franks in the 13th century, and was later expanded by the Venetians and the Turks.
The castle is situated above the cave of Nestor, and offers spectacular views to Voidokilia and the “Strait of Sykia,” which separates it from the island of Sphacteria. The location of Paleokastro rendered it virtually unconquerable, making it a strategic location for many centuries, and for all nations who passed from the area, such as Genoans, Venetians, Franks, and Turks. Paleokastro went into decline when the Turks blocked the entrance to Navarino from the “Strait of Sykia.”
Today it is a significant spot for its breathtaking views. Paleokastro was finally abandoned in 1573, when near the entrance to the port of Pylos the Ottomans built Niokastro or Neo Navarino, located above the settlement, on the hill. Together with Paleokastro, they comprise the “guardsmen” of the natural port of Pylos.
This new castle met all requirements in order to provide defence from land and mainly the sea, constituting a safe base against enemies arriving from sea.
However, as almost all the castles of the area that roughly belong to the same period, Niokastro was witness to the onslaught of various aspiring conquerors (Venetians, Turks, Russians), who left their marks on it.